1990's Scifi TV Shows2000's Scifi TV Shows2010's Scifi TV ShowsScifi TV Shows

The X Files

HomeSeason 1Season 2Season 3Season 4Season 5
Season 6Season 7Season 8Season 9Season 10Season 11

The X-Files follows the careers and personal lives of FBI Special Agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully. Mulder is a talented profiler and a strong believer in the supernatural. He is also adamant about the existence of intelligent extraterrestrial life and its presence on Earth. This set of beliefs earns him the nickname “Spooky Mulder” and an assignment to a little-known department that deals with unsolved cases, the X-Files. His belief in the paranormal springs from the claimed abduction of his sister Samantha Mulder by extraterrestrials when Mulder was 12. Her abduction drives Mulder throughout most of the series. Because of this, as well as more nebulous desires for vindication and the revelation of truths kept hidden by human authorities, Mulder struggles to maintain objectivity in his investigations.

Agent Scully is a foil for Mulder in this regard. As a medical doctor and natural sceptic, Scully approaches cases with complete detachment, even when Mulder, despite his considerable training, loses his objectivity. She is partnered with Mulder initially so that she can debunk Mulder’s nonconforming theories, often supplying logical, scientific explanations for the cases’ apparently unexplainable phenomena. Although she is frequently able to offer scientific alternatives to Mulder’s deductions, she is rarely able to refute them completely. Over the course of the series, she becomes increasingly dissatisfied with her own ability to approach the cases scientifically.

The X Files Season 1 Trailer

The X Files Overview

SeasonEpisodesFirst Aired (UK)
1 – [Episode Guide]2419 September 1994
2 – [Episode Guide]2528 August 1995
3 – [Episode Guide]2412 September 1996
4 – [Episode Guide]2410 September 1997
5 – [Episode Guide]2019 September 1998
6 – [Episode Guide]225 January 2000
7 – [Episode Guide]2215 November 2000
8 – [Episode Guide]213 March 2002
9 – [Episode Guide]193 November 2002
10 – [Episode Guide]68 February 2016
11 – [Episode Guide]105 February 2018

The X Files Cast List

David DuchovnyDavid DuchovnyFox Mulder193 Episodes, 1993 – 2018
Gillian AndersonGillian AndersonDana Scully217 Episodes, 1993 – 2018
Mitch PileggiMitch PileggiWalter Skinner91 Episodes, 1994 – 2018
William B. DavisWilliam B. DavisSmoking Man44 Episodes, 1993 – 2018
Robert PatrickRobert PatrickJohn Doggett40 Episodes, 2000 – 2002
Tom BraidwoodTom BraidwoodMelvin Frohike41 Episodes, 1994 – 2018
Bruce HarwoodBruce HarwoodJohn Fitzgerald Byers38 Episodes, 1994 – 2018
Dean HaglundDean HaglundRichard ‘Ringo’ Langly37 Episodes, 1994 – 2018
Annabeth GishAnnabeth GishMonica Reyes26 Episodes, 2001 – 2018
Nicholas LeaNicholas LeaAlex Krycek24 Episodes, 1994 – 2002

Related Articles

Back to top button